adwords  Glossary

Broad Match Modifier


The keyword setting that will give you reach (impressions) similar to broad match keywords, but also give you more control over who you’re serving your ads to. They tell Google certain words in your keywords phrase need to be present in the search term of your customers. Broad match keywords are indicated by a ‘ ‘ sign.

The broad match modified keyword “women’s hats” will only cause your ads to trigger if the term “women’s” is in the search phrase. The order of the words does not matter.




Ad Position


The order in which your ad appears in Google’s search results.

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Ad Group Default Bids


A specified bid that applies to all keywords and placements within a given Ad Group that do not have individual custom bids at a keyword or placement level.

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Auto Tagging


A feature that helps AdWords “talk” to Google Analytics through dynamically generated URL parameters. You can use this information to import complex conversion data into AdWords.

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Ad Group


The structure that contains one or more ads and a target set of keywords for Google Search, and a target set of placements for Google Display.

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Approved


The status given to ads that are allowed to run on the AdWords network.

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Approved (Limited)


The status given to ads that adhere to Google’s policies, but are limited in where they are able to be shown. Common reasons why ads are given the “Approved (Limited)” status include mobile rendering issues, gambling content, healthcare offers, and more.

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Active View


A piece of technology on Google’s Display Network that lets AdWords know if your display ad is actually viewable by potential customers. This term might be found on display specific columns when you pull reports.

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Google My Business


A Google product that allows you to create and manage a business listing on Google Maps while offering a number of other perks while using Google products like Google Merchant Center and AdWords (through location extensions)

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A B Testing


An ad optimization strategy that compares the performance of multiple variations of a single ad. Some important variants to test are:

 

 

  • Ad Text Variations (something as simple as using an exclamation point or not)

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Campaign


The structure within AdWords that holds your keywords and ad groups. All ad groups within a Campaign share a budget and similar settings around targeting. You can have one or many campaigns as part of your AdWords account.

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Ad Extensions


An AdWords feature that shows additional information in your ads like your business location, phone number, business ratings, and links to your webpage.

 

Manual Extensions

App Extension

Call Extension

Location Extension

Review Extension

Sitelinks Extension

Callout Extension

Structured Snippets

Price Extensions

 

 

Automated Extensions (automatically added by Google)

Consumer Ratings

Previous Visits

Seller Ratings

Dynamic Sitelink extensions

Dynamic Structured Snippets

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Ad Delivery


How quickly Google serves your ads. Or, another way of looking at it, how quickly you spend your daily allocated budget. AdWords offers two choices for Ad Delivery — Accelerated and Standard. Your campaign is set to Standard Delivery by Default.

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Ad Delivery_Accelerated


A form of Ad Delivery that serves your ads as quickly as possible. This method rapidly spends your daily allocated budget.

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Targeting Group


The YouTube search keywords, Display Network Keywords, topics, placements, and audience interests you want to target for your video ad.

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Ad Delivery_Standard


The default form of Ad Delivery that spaces out the serving of your ads throughout the course of the day to balance your daily budget. We recommend this option if you want to create an even distribution of your ads throughout the day.

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Keywords


Words or phrases describing your product or service that you choose to trigger your ads. The keywords determine when your ads show. When your keyword matches what people search on Google, your ad will appear. For more information on the impact of keyword selection, see: Quality Score, Page Rank, Top of Page Bid Estimate.

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Ad Scheduling


A setting within AdWords that allows you to select the time of day and day of the week to serve your ads. This is a great option for businesses that only want to serve ads during their hours of operation.

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Ad Status


A description that will inform you if your ads are eligible to run. If your ads are not eligible to run, the Ad Status will give you some information about the policy restrictions you violated. Ad Status can be found in the “Status” column in your AdWords campaign or ad group.

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AdSense


The tool Google built to give publishers of all shapes and sizes the ability to host ads on their site to make money off ads. If you’re serving ads on Google’s Display Network, your ads are likely to show up as AdSense ads.

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Advertising Policies


Rules that determine what your ads can say and advertise. Ads that violate these policies will be marked as “Disapproved” or “Suspended”, meaning they are not allowed to run.

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Ad Variations


The different combinations of text and imagery you create as part of your “ad”. Multiple variations are a good way to test which photos, text elements, and designs resonate most with your customers.

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AdWords API


The piece of technology that lets advanced AdWords users build software applications to interact and make changes to their campaigns. To use the AdWords API, you will need a My Client Center account and a developer token. API stands for Application Program Interface.

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AdWords Editor


A free tool from Google that allows advertisers to make bulk changes to their account (bids, keywords, ads, and other settings changes).

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AdWords Promotional Coupon Code


A monetary “credit” that’s applied to your AdWords account after completing some sort of necessary action. Promo codes are usually given out by Google and their partners to help get new advertisers to spend on AdWords. “Spend Rs.2000 and get $2000 in AdWords credit” is a common promotion for first time advertisers, or advertisers working within a brand new account.

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All Conversions


The total number of conversions AdWords drives for your business. All Conversions take into account the data in your Conversion column, all “conversion” actions you may not have included in your Conversion column, and “advanced conversion sources” like specific types of phone calls, store visits, cross-device conversions and more.

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Alternate Email Address


The alternate email address you add to AdWords that will allow you to sign into AdWords in case you forget your primary log-in information.

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Analytics


A free tool Google created to help you better understand the types of customers that visit your website, how much time they spend there, where they come from, and other important metrics that AdWords can’t provide in as much detail. Google Analytics takes a few minutes to set up, requiring you to add a small amount of code to your website.

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Ad Preview and Diagnosis Tool


A tool Google created to help you test what your ads look like and troubleshoot issues without artificially increasing the number of impressions your ads see (so you don’t have to go type your keywords into Google search to see what your ad looks like).

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Ad Rank


The formula Google created to determine your ad’s position in the search results.

[Formula] Ad Rank = Your Max CPC Bid x Your Quality Score

Sitelinks and use of other extensions are also factored into this equation.

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Ad Formats


“Visual enhancements” to help make your search ads more compelling to your customers. Ad Extensions are an example of Ad Formats.

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Ad Relevance


An indicator that lets Google know how closely related your keywords are to your ads and website landing page. Google’s Quality Score values Ad Relevance above anything else. Make sure your keyword is featured in your ad text and is somewhere on your website landing page to increase Ad relevance and thus Quality score.

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Ad Rotation Settings


A feature in AdWords that allows you to determine which one of your ads within an Ad Group should be served the most. It’s important to note that no two ads are created equal. Some will perform better than others, which makes the Ad Rotation Settings so important. There are 2 settings to choose from:

  • Optimize: According to Google, this setting, “optimizes your ads for each individual auction using signals like keyword, search term, device, location, and more.”

  • Rotate Indefinitely: Google will keep switching which ads enter auctions for an indefinite amount of time, but it will not optimize or prioritize which ones are entered over others.

Note: AdWords used to offer two more options, “Optimize for Conversions” and “Rotate Evenly” but those options are no longer supported.

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Remarketing


A feature that allows you to reach people who have previously been on your site. It relies heavily on a user’s cookie data and shows them ads relevant to the last session they had on your site.

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Automated Rules


A feature that helps you spend less time monitoring your campaigns by allowing AdWords to automatically change your bids, budgets, and statuses. Remember to create maximum and minimum budgets so that you don’t accidentally over or underspend.

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Automatic Bidding


The bidding strategy that lets Google automatically adjust your maximum bids across keywords. This is a good option for advertisers that are willing to give up a little control to free up some time.

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Automatic Payments


The AdWords billing feature that allows Google to automatically bill you after accruing costs in your AdWords account. You are billed after one of 2 things happen:

1.   30 days after your last payment

2.   When your costs reach the set amount that triggers your bill (bill threshold)

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Automatic Placements


The website placements that Google will serve your ads on based on the targeting you set in your Display campaign. You can find these placements by drilling into the “Dimensions” tab in your display campaign.

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Average Cost Per Click or Avg CPC


The average amount you are charged after a potential customer clicks on your ad. Average CPC is calculated by dividing the total cost of your clicks by the total number of clicks.

For example, if you saw 1,000 clicks and it cost you $100, the Avg. CPC would be $0.10.

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Average Position


This statistic will show you the position your ad ranks compared to other ads on average. The highest position is #1, but that doesn’t necessarily mean it’s showing on the top of the page, just that your ad is the first ad to show. Note: Google used to display ads on the right side of the SERP but has since changed and now ads only show at the top and the bottom of the results page.

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Below First Page Bid


The alert Google will apply to your keywords when the bid you have selected is not high enough to get your ad on the first page of the search results due to the competitive nature of that keyword.

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Below the Fold


Refers to the content, ads, etc. that are only seen after you begin scrolling down the page. The term was taken from print newspapers where stories “below the fold” were actually below the physical fold on the front page of the paper. In the digital context, this is also known as “below the scroll”.

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Bid Adjustment


A specific percentage increase or decrease on your bids across keywords, locations, devices, schedules, and more. They give you more control over the circumstances in which your ads are served by Google.

For example, if you are advertising a mobile app it would make sense to serve more ads on mobile than on desktop. You can set up to a 300% bid adjustment on mobile devices, which will let Google know you want your ads to be served more on mobile than any other device.

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Billing Threshold


The amount of money or time that, when crossed, will trigger Google to charge you for your accrued costs. This applies to automatic payments only.

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Bounce Rate


The rate of visitors that click from the ad to your website that leaves without visiting more than one page of your site.

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Broad Match


The keyword setting that allows your ads to be triggered when any type of similar variation, synonym, or phrase is searched. It will have the largest reach (impressions) compared to all other match types but will be far less targeted.

Let’s say you sell women’s hats and only women’s hats. If you selected “women’s hats” as a broad match keyword, your ad could trigger anytime someone searches for women’s hats, men’s hats, baby hats, dog hats, and more. Broad match keywords typically cause advertisers to spend money on irrelevant traffic.

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Broad Match Modifier


The keyword setting that will give you reach (impressions) similar to broad match keywords, but also give you more control over who you’re serving your ads to. They tell Google certain words in your keywords phrase need to be present in the search term of your customers. Broad match keywords are indicated by a ‘ ‘ sign.

The broad match modified keyword “women’s hats” will only cause your ads to trigger if the term “women’s” is in the search phrase. The order of the words does not matter.

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Budget Order


A payment feature that allows you to tell Google how much money you want to spend over a specific period of time. This feature is only available to advertisers that have set up monthly invoicing.

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Bulk Edit


The feature that allows you to make edits to campaigns across your account all at once.

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Cache


Data that is stored temporarily on your computer by your internet browser as you visit different websites.

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Call Extensions


An AdWords feature that allows you to include your phone number in the ad text to increase phone calls to your business.

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Callout Extensions


Additional text that appears with your ad that calls out some piece of value for your customer. Basic examples of Callouts include: 24/7 Support, Free Shipping, and Cancel Anytime. Callouts are not clickable.

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Call Only Campaigns


A campaign feature that allows you to make calling your business the only action your customers can take from viewing your ad. Call Only campaigns will not direct clicks to your website.

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Call to Action


A word or phrase to promote an immediate response from your customers. “Call Now!”, “Shop Today”, and “Subscribe” are all example of calls to action.

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Call Tracking


The ability to track how many calls your business received as a result of your AdWords campaigns. You need to enable a Google Forwarding Phone Number in order to effectively leverage Call Tracking.

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Campaign Status


An indicator to let you know where or not your ads can run or are running at that moment. A few examples of Campaign Status’ include: Eligible, Paused, Removed, and Ended.

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Card Verification Number CVN


The 3-digit security number that most often located on the back of your credit card. CVN is needed to complete the AdWords billing requirements.

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Change History


A report that allows you to look back at all the changes you made to your account and campaigns. All changes are time stamped and include the person that was signed in to make the changes.

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Click


The act of clicking the link in your ad. A click most often leads to a website visit.

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Click Through Rate CTR


The percent of people that click on your ad after viewing it. The formula to determine your CTR is the total number of clicks divided by the total number of impressions.

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Consolidated Billing


A feature that allows you to receive one bill for the costs accrued across multiple AdWords accounts.

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Contextual Targeting


The method Google uses to target specific websites on Google’s Display Network by leveraging your keywords and topics. If one of your keywords is “ski gear”, Google will find all the websites that include that keyword and serve your ads on those sites.

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Conversion


The action of your customer taking the desired action as a result of your marketing/advertising. Conversions are defined by the advertiser, but often include sales on your website, sign-ups on a lead gen form, or phone call to your business.

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Conversion Optimizer


An AdWords tool that predicts which types of clicks are the most valuable to your business, and then automatically adjusts your bids to attract the clicks that are most likely to drive conversions.

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Conversion Rate


The average number of conversions you will see per click on your ad.

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Conversion Tracking


The method of tracking the important actions your customers make (sales, sign-ups, etc.) that come as a result of Google AdWords ads.

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Conversion Window


The number of days after a click that a conversion can still be recorded. You can set the conversion window to be more or less than the default (30 days).

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Cookie


A small file that’s saved on your computer by the websites you visit. Cookies are used by websites to recognize your preferences.

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Cost per Click (CPC)


The price you pay Google each time someone clicks on your ad.

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Cost per thousand Impressions (CPM)


The price you pay Google every time your Display ad sees 1,000 impressions.

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Cost per view (CPV)


The price you pay Google every time someone views one of your video ads.

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Customer ID


The unique number that’s assigned to your Google Adwords account. It’s a 3-part number that can be found on the top right corner of your AdWords dashboard.

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Daily Budget


The maximum amount of money you tell Google you want to spend across your campaigns per day. It’s important to note that Google can spend up to 20% over your daily budget on some days, so long as the average number of dollars spent over 30 days does not exceed your daily budget.

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Day Parting


A setting within AdWords that allows you to select the time of day and day of the week to serve your ads. This is a great option for businesses that only want to serve ads during their hours of operation. Day parting is also known as “Ad Scheduling”.

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Deep Link


A specific type of URL that takes your customers to a specific page in your app.

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Description Lines


The two lines of text that exist between the headline and display URL of your text ad. Each line allows for 35 characters.

Note: This term only applied to standard text ads which are no longer available in AdWords.

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Destination URL


The “real” URL that will take your customers to your website after click on your ad. The Destination URL often looks a little different than the Display URL.

Note: Google announced that the Final URL was replacing the Destination URL in a “URL Upgrade.”

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URL


The location of a website, web page, or file on the internet. It stands for Uniform Resource Locator.

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Disapproved


The status your ad receives if it violates one of Google’s policies.

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Display Network


One of the internet’s largest content networks. It contains more than a million websites and apps that can serve your ads.

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Display Partners


The websites that partner will Google to serve Display ads.

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Display Planner


A tool that helps you determine which display placements would be the best fit for your business goals.

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Display URL


What the URL looks like as it’s displayed on your ad. The display URL can look different than the destination URL to keep your ad looking tidy.

Your display URL can look like this: www.primeclasses.in.com/signup
while your destination looks like this https://primeclasses.in/ads/help/sign-up/letsgo

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